Shenyang: who let the dogs eat?

2

Shenyang, Xita street. Photo: Natalia Maiboroda

“No dog, please!” – I asked my waiter in the restaurant. I showed her hieroglyph to make sure they will not cook a dog for me. The waiter smiled and opened the menu. Every single meal on the page contained familiar character.

4

Shenyang, Xita street. When girls noticed me, they run. Photo: Natalia Maiboroda

“Bu! – I said “no” in Chinese. – No dog!”

The waiter smiled again, but with light dissapontment on her face. North Koreans have no regrets when it comes to their cuisine. 

 

Shenyang, North Korean market. Photo: Natalia Maiboroda

7.JPG

Shenyang, North Korean market. Photo: Natalia Maiboroda

No, I was not in North Korea. But the closest I could get. I stayed in Chinese town called Shengyang. The closeness to the North Korea explains why there is the whole ethnic street, owned by North Korean government.

 

6

Shenyang, North Korean market. Photo: Natalia Maiboroda

If you find yourself on Xita Street, be careful what you order. Numerous restaurants reflect the atmosphere of typical North Korean place. When I entered such a restaurant, the host guided me to the second floor. Another girl met me there. I was some kind of a ball in volleyball game. They tried their best not to drop me. Later I realized that, indeed, they were watching me not to make pictures. It’s exported North Korea, baby. You can do here what is allowed. So, basically eat.

5

Shenyang, North Korean market. Photo: Natalia Maiboroda

All girls were looking quite similar: the same blue and white dress, hight-heels, professionally done hair, shy manners and silent voice. They were standing near your tables till you finished the meal and went out. Someone always assists you. Only in WC you might be alone. 

3

Shenyang, North Korean restaurant. Photo: Natalia Maiboroda

I made a picture on my phone, but my “host” asked to delete it. They were simply afraid to appear on the picture. After all, they need to come back home some day. But I made a picture throught the mirrow when my waitress-guard went for my meal. For some people this experience is quite exotic. But I find it pathetic to enter utopia world. Especially, when just behind the door you find economically and politically better world. Chinese world. 

1

Shenyang, Xita street. Photo: Natalia Maiboroda

9

Shenyang, North Korean district. Photo: Natalia Maiboroda

8

Shenyang, North Korean district. Photo: Natalia Maiboroda

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Shenyang: who let the dogs eat?

  1. mukul chand says:

    very interesting.

Leave a Reply

